Saturday, 30 August 2008

Yoga In India

An exercise routine that has taken the world over was discovered in India around 3300 BC. When the Indus valley civilization was uncovered, many seals with figures in yoga poses were discovered. So it had flourished in the Indus valley.

Learning yoga has become an attribute for every Indian. At some point of time they are certainly affected by yoga. A few asanas learnt can keep you healthy for a very long time. They strengthen the digestive system. Increase the blood flow to various parts of the body that keeps you fresh and pepped up all day long. Investing a few hours in this exercise is a long-term assuredness of being healthy.

Many prefer to learn yoga from Rishis (holy men) as they perfect the asana and are able to help the learner perfect it. A wrong bend or a wrong posture can do much harm than good. Hence it is very important to learn the right posture.

As Yoga has been founded in India, it has spread over the centuries. Today you do not have to go to remote villages to learn the exercise from a meditating Rishi (holy man). Instead there are many instructors that are trained in the field to help you practice. It is best prescribed on an empty stomach and after a good rest.

Yoga finds its mentions in the Upanishads and the Puranas that have been composed by the Aryans in later half of the Vedic period. Hence it must have been pursued by Kings, Royals and most of the people as an exercise routine where cardio and weight training were unheard of.

There are 8 stages described by the teachers of Yoga:
Yamas – where one learns to abstain or restrain 2) Niyamas – here one studies to give up the ego and live in purity and contentment 3) Asanas – here are the exercises of healthy living 4) Pranayama – Breathing exercises 5) Partyahar – where the senses are withdrawn 6) Dhrana – complete concentration is achieved 7) Dhyana – from concentration, meditation is the next step 8) Samadhi – the super conscious state is achieved. To reach this stage many years of practice is needed.

And once you attain all the eight then Moksha that is redemption is said to be yours.

By: Jennie Gandhi

Article Directory: